The Standard calls this program Oregon Paid Family Medical Leave (PFML).
It is also commonly referred to as Paid Leave Oregon (PLO).
These summaries provide an overview of how PLO benefits through The Standard will integrate with your City compensation and benefits:
In addition to FMLA and OFLA, the State of Oregon offers City employees the Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance program that provides paid time off to employees for certain qualifying life events. The program is funded by premiums paid by both employees and the City and is administered by The Standard. Paid Leave Oregon will allow employees to take up to 12 weeks of paid leave in a 52-week period (starting from the day leave begins) for family, medical, or safe leave.
If pregnant, in some situations, an employee may be able to take up to 2 additional weeks for a total of 14 weeks. The program pays employees a percentage of their wages while they’re on leave and protects an employee’s job if they’ve worked for the same employer for at least 90 consecutive days. For more information, please see the resources below.
Employees are eligible for benefits immediately upon hire if they have worked in Oregon and earned at least $1,000 in wages in their base year and have contributed to Paid Leave Oregon through payroll deduction in their base year.
For an eligible employee to care for an eligible family member with a serious illness or injury; or to bond with a new child after birth, adoption, or foster care placement (leave must be completed no later than 12 months from the date of birth, adoption, or placement).
For an eligible employee to care for themself or an eligible minor child or dependent who is a survivor of sexual assault, domestic violence, harassment, or stalking in order to seek legal or law enforcement assistance or be involved in other civil or criminal proceedings; to seek medical treatment or recover from injuries; to seek or assist in seeking counseling; to obtain victim services; or to relocate or take steps to secure an existing home.
For an eligible employee experiencing their own serious health condition; or experiencing disability due to pregnancy before or after birth; or for prenatal care.
Qualifying Family and Medical Leave Conditions
Employees absent due to illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental health conditions for more than three (3) workdays, which does not need to be full days or continuous days in a row, for themself and/or a qualifying family member may qualify for leave under FMLA or OFLA leave provisions. Examples of qualifying medical leave conditions include:
- Requires inpatient care.
- Requires constant or continuing care.
- Involves a period of incapacity whether continuous or intermittent.
- Involves multiple treatments.
- Involves a period of disability due to pregnancy, childbirth, miscarriage or stillbirth, or period of absence for prenatal care.
- Poses an imminent danger of death or possibility of death in the near future.
Covered Family Members
A family member defined under Paid Leave Oregon can be any of the following:
- Your spouse or domestic partner
- Your child (biological, adopted, stepchild, or foster child), your spouse or domestic partner’s child, or the child’s spouse or domestic partner
- Your parent (biological, adoptive, stepparent, foster parent, or legal guardian), the parent of your spouse or domestic partner, or your parent’s spouse or domestic partner
- Your sibling or stepsibling or their spouse or domestic partner
- Your grandparent or your grandparent’s spouse or domestic partner
- Your grandchild or your grandchild’s spouse or domestic partner
- Any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with a covered individual is the equivalent of a family relationship.
Note: Safe Leave taken under PLO is limited to the employee or employee’s eligible minor child or dependent.
For More Information
- Visit The Standard page to learn more about PFML
- Contact The Standard by phone: 866-756-8116 or email at
- Contact Human Resources by phone: 541-917-7529 or email at