CRIMINAL SET-ASIDE

A set-aside is sometimes called expungement or expunction. It means that the court record of a criminal or contempt case is sealed by the court and will not appear in official court records. You should be aware that set-aside cases can be unsealed in certain limited circumstances.

The Albany Municipal Court can only set aside charges which were originally filed in the Albany Municipal Court. The Albany Municipal Court cannot set aside a state or municipal traffic offense.

Important Contact Information

Oregon Judicial Department - www.courts.oregon.gov

Oregon State Bar Lawyer Referral Service – www.oregonstatebar.org

Phone: 503-684-3763 or toll-free in Oregon at 800-452-7636

If you are deployed or about to be deployed, contact the Oregon State Bar Military Assistance Panel (www.osbar.org/ docs/ris/militaryflier.pdf) for more information about special rights and rules that may apply to you.

CAN I ASK THE COURT TO ORDER A SET ASIDE IN MY CASE?

You can file a *Motion* with the court to ask for a set-aside if you were:

- Convicted of a crime or violation
- found guilty except for insanity
- charged with a crime or cited for a violation
- > arrested but not charged or
- > found in contempt of court

AND

- > you have fully complied with and completed all elements of your sentence including restitution, post-prison supervision, and probation
- > you have not been charged with or convicted of another crime (other than a motor vehicle violation) or found guilty except for insanity of any crime or for more than one violation for the years before filing your motion as listed below
- > you do not have any charges pending at the time of filing and
- no other exception applies (see below for other exceptions)

BUT the following waiting periods apply: (Note that any prior set asides granted will be counted when calculating the waiting periods below)

Waiting periods for CONVICTIONS or FINDINGS OF GUILTY EXCPT FOR INSANITY*:

For charge of:	Years since date of	You cannot have been charged with or convicted
	conviction or	of a crime other than a motor vehicle violation or
	release from prison:	found guilty except for insanity for the previous:
Class A Misdemeanor	3 Years	3 Years
Class B or C Misdemeanor,		
violation, or finding of	1 Year	1 Year
contempt of court		

*For findings of Guilty Except for Insanity (GEI), the above timelines apply from the date of the finding, entry of judgment, or release from the jurisdiction of the Psychiatric Security Review Board (PSRB), whichever is later. If you were found GEI you remain prohibited from possessing or purchasing a firearm under federal law even if you are granted a set-aside.

Probation Revocation: If your sentence of probation was revoked, you cannot ask for a set-aside until 3 years after the date of revocation or until you are otherwise eligible under the timelines above, whichever is later

Waiting periods for ARRESTS, CHARGES, or CITATIONS that are not pursued:

Anytime after 60 days from the date the prosecuting attorney indicates that the state will not proceed with prosecution or contempt charge

Waiting periods for ACQUITTALS or DISMISSED CHARGES:

Anytime after the acquittal or dismissal

HOW DO I ASK FOR A SET-ASIDE?

Fill out the Motion to Set Aside and Declaration in Support and the Order to Set Aside

Your case number is the same as the original case number for the case with your conviction. If you never had a court case number, leave that line blank. The court will create a new case to process your *Motion*.

Parties

- If you are filing about an arrest record with no charges filed:
 - o YOU are the plaintiff
 - The prosecuting attorney is the Defendant
- If you are filing for any other reason:
 - City of Albany is the Plaintiff
 - o YOU are the Defendant

Make 2 copies of your forms – one for your records, and one to serve on the Albany City Attorney.

IMPORTANT: You must also have your fingerprints taken on a fingerprint card (or as specified by the Department of State Police) and

- Send them to the Department of State Police
- Pay the fee that the department charges for a criminal record check, and
- Complete the department's Request for Set Aside form

The department will send the results to the prosecuting attorney

Additional information is available on the department's website: www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/cjis/pages/criminal-justice-information-services.aspx

WHERE DO I FILE?

File the original *Motion to Set Aside and Declaration in Support* and the *Order to Set Aside* with the Albany Municipal Court. Mail a copy of the *Motion to Set Aside and Declaration in Support* to the Albany City Attorney at 260 Ferry St SW STE 202, Albany OR 97321. Complete the *Certificate of Mailing* section on the copy you will file with the court and on your copy.

There is no fee to file this Motion and Order

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?

The Albany City Attorney has 120 days after you file to notify the court if they object to your *Motion*. If an objection is filed, the court will hold a hearing. Be sure the court always has contact information where we can reach you. If a hearing is scheduled and you do not appear, you many not be granted a set-aside.

If your request is granted the court will send copies of the Order to the necessary agencies. The record of the proceeding you asked to set aside will be sealed, meaning it will not be viewable through official court records or by court staff. Be aware that sealed records can be unsealed under certain limited circumstances. Talk to a lawyer if you are concerned about unsealing records in the future.

If your request for set-aside is granted, ORS 137.255(4) states that "upon entry of the order, the conviction, arrest, citation, charge, or other proceeding [ordered set aside by the court] shall be deemed not to have occurred, and [you] may answer accordingly any questions relating to its occurrence."

EXCEPTIONS

You cannot use these forms to ask for a set-aside if any of the following apply:

- Criminal mistreatment in the second degree under ORS 163.200 if the victim at the time of the crime was 65 years of age or older
- Endangering the welfare of a minor under ORS 163.575(1)(a), when the offense constitutes child abuse as defined in ORS 419B.005
- A conviction for a state or municipal traffic offense